Home page of BitZipper
Sprache:   
Visit the Bitberry Software main site
Start Shop Produktmerkmale Screenshots Herunterladen Kundenservice Support Über uns

AES Verschlüsselung - Datensicherheit

Über Verschlüsselung

Verschlüsselung ist der Vorgang, bei dem Daten von einer lesbaren Form in eine unlesbare Form gebracht werden, die nur vom Empfänger wieder lesbar gemacht werden können.

Um die Nachricht zu entschlüsseln, muss der Empfänger dieser Nachricht den passenden Entschlüsselungssatz haben (Passwort).

Verschlüsselungsmethoden

BitZipper unterstützt zwei Verschlüsselungsmethoden, ZIP 2.0 Verschlüsselung und AES Verschlüssselung:

1. ZIP 2.0 Verschlüsselung

Auch bekannt als Standard Passwortgeschützte ZIP Dateien. Dieser Schutz ist ziemlich schwach und es existieren Programme die diese Passwörter 'wiederherstellen' (cracken) können. Alle ZIP Tools unterstützen diese Verschlüsselungsmethode und können benutzt werden um die geschützten Dateien zu entpacken, aber Sie sollten diese Methode nicht bei sensiblen Daten benutzen.

2. AES Verschlüsselung

AES steht für Advanced Encryption Standard. AES ist eine symmetrische Verschlüsselungstechnik, welche die oft benutzte Data Encryption Standard (DES) Methode ersetzt.

Dies war das Ergebnis einer weltweiten Aktion von Eingängen von Verschlüsselungsalgorithmen durch das US Government's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 1997 initiiert und 2000 vervollständigt.

Der gewonnene Algorithmus, Rijndael, wurde durch die zwei belgischen Kryptologen, Vincent Rijmen and Joan Daemen, entwickelt.

AES liefert starke Verschlüsselung und wurde von NIST als ein Federal Information Processing Standard im November 2001 eingeführt (FIPS-197), und im Juni 2003 vom U.S. Government NSA.

Der AES Algorithmus nutzt einen der drei Schlüsselstärken: eine 128-, 192-, oder 256-bit Verschlüsselungsfolge (Passwort). Jede Verschlüsselungsfolgen-Größe verursacht eine gewisse Veränderung des Verhaltens des Algorithmus, so dass der unterschiedliche Schlüssel nicht unbedingt eine größere Verschlüsselung zur Folge hat, aber auch die Komplexität der Verschlüsselung erhöht.

BitZipper unterstützt 128- und 256-bit Verschlüsselungs-Folgen, welche auch von WinZip 9 genutzt werden. Beide bewirken eine wesentlich bessere Verschlüsselung als die von ZIP 2.0. Es ist ein wenig schneller Daten mit dem 128-bit AES zu verschlüsseln, aber mit den heutigen schnellen PCs bemerkt man den Unterschied fast gar nicht mehr.

Wichtig

Die meisten ZIP Tools haben keine Unterstützung für die AES Verschlüsselung und können daher nicht die Dateien öffnen, die mit BitZipper 4.1 oder neuer erstellt wurden. BitZipper 4.1 ist mit WinZip 9 kompatibel, und beide Tools können die AES-geschützten ZIP Dateien entschlüsseln.

Verlassen Sie sich nicht nur allein auf die Verschlüsselungsmethode. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie ein Passwort oder gar eine "Passwortfolge" nutzen, die schwer zu erraten ist aber trotzdem einfach zu merken. Nutzen Sie immer einen Mix aus tief-/hochgestellten Buchstaben, Zahlen und Sonderzeichen.

Nur der Inhalt der Dateien, die in einer ZIP Datei gespeichert sind, werden verschlüsselt. Der Dateiname, Datum, Größe und die Attribute werden unverschlüsselt in dem ZIP Datei Header gespeichert und ohne ein Passwort angesehen werden, von jedem Tool, das auf ZIP Dateien zugreifen kann.

Home page of BitZipper
Select language:   
Visit the Bitberry Software main site
Home Buy now Features Screenshots Download Customer Portal Support About

AES encryption - data security

BitZipper will not only compress and decompress files for you, it will also encrypt it with strong AES encryption!

What is encryption?

Encryption is the process of changing data into a form that can be read only by the intended receiver. To decipher the message, the receiver of the encrypted data must have the proper decryption key (password).

In traditional encryption schemes, the sender and the receiver use the same key to encrypt and decrypt data. In this case the key is the password you supply when adding files to your ZIP-file - to unzip the file the same password must be supplied.

Encryption schemes supported by BitZipper

BitZipper 4.1 and newer supports two encryption schemes, ZIP 2.0 encryption and AES encryption:

1. ZIP 2.0 encryption

Also known as standard password protected ZIP-files. This protection scheme is rather weak and tools that can 'recover' (crack) these passwords exist. All ZIP-tools support this encrypton scheme and can be used to unzip your protected files, but you should not rely on this protection scheme to protect sensitive data.

2. AES encryption

AES stands for Advanced Encryption Standard. AES is a symmetric key encryption technique which will replace the commonly used Data Encryption Standard (DES).

It was the result of a worldwide call for submissions of encryption algorithms issued by the US Government's National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in 1997 and completed in 2000.

The winning algorithm, Rijndael, was developed by two Belgian cryptologists, Vincent Rijmen and Joan Daemen.

AES provides strong encryption and has been selected by NIST as a Federal Information Processing Standard in November 2001 (FIPS-197), and in June 2003 the U.S. Government (NSA) announced that AES is secure enough to protect classified information up to the TOP SECRET level, which is the highest security level and defined as information which would cause "exceptionally grave damage" to national security if disclosed to the public.

The AES algorithm uses one of three cipher key strengths: a 128-, 192-, or 256-bit encryption key (password). Each encryption key size causes the algorithm to behave slightly differently, so the increasing key sizes not only offer a larger number of bits with which you can scramble the data, but also increase the complexity of the cipher algorithm.

BitZipper supports 128- and 256-bit encryption keys, which is the two key strengths supported by WinZip 9. Both key strengths provide significantly better security than standard ZIP 2.0 encryption. It is slightly faster to encrypt and decrypt data protected with 128-bit AES, but with today's fast PCs the time difference is barely notable.

Important

Most ZIP-utilities do not have support for AES encryption and thus will not be able to unzip files created with BitZipper 4.1 or newer. BitZipper 4.1 is compatible with WinZip 9, and both utilities can unzip AES-protected ZIP-files created by the other.

Do not rely on the encryption algorithm alone when protecting your data. Be sure you select a password or rather a "pass phrase" which is difficult to guess but still easy for you to remember. Always use a mix of lowercase/uppercase letters, digits and special characters.

Only the content of files stored in a ZIP-file is encrypted. The file name, date, size and attributes are stored in unencrypted form in the ZIP-file header and can be viewed without a password, by any tool that can access a ZIP-file.